Auteur Sujet: cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL  (Lu 2232 fois)

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« le: 16 mars 2011, 17:24:51 pm »
My original installation was lost when my Hard Disk failed.

Trying to re install and it keeps saying serial number in wrong.  Checked it (assuming the 0 are numbers and not letter O

Have tried many times to enter the ridiculously long number on the plastic sleeve - it just says Error Serial Number.  Is this because it thinks the game is already installed on old hard disk?

Cannot find any support contact details.

Can anyone help please as I am at my wits end and do not really want to junk the game and waste the money.

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #1 le: 16 mars 2011, 17:47:44 pm »
OK Update.

Have found a key file I was sent when first buying it.  Putting this in the main folder got me to the first menu.  When I renamed the key file to just key I seem to be into the game.

However now trying to work out which patches I need to apply

Hors ligne Alfiere

  • Général de Brigade
  • ****
  • Messages: 1400
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #2 le: 16 mars 2011, 17:57:30 pm »
Start Histwar.
Then Start Les grognards
when load , take a look on the right low and take note of version.
then post on forum

then take a look here
http://www.histwar.org/mods/category.php?id=4

but i think is ok
« Modifié: 16 mars 2011, 17:59:33 pm par Alfiere »
Danube camp - 3rd Coaltion camp

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #3 le: 16 mars 2011, 18:26:55 pm »
Applied patch 1b and install exe now 1.016.

If I try a later patch like 1.02c(ab) that I have saved the game will not start.

Will read the link you sent.  Will see if that tells me what other patches to apply.

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #4 le: 16 mars 2011, 18:31:56 pm »
OK applied  2f and now get error message   The Direct 3D device has a non zero reference count meaning some objects were not released.

What does this mean?

Hors ligne Alfiere

  • Général de Brigade
  • ****
  • Messages: 1400
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #5 le: 16 mars 2011, 18:34:09 pm »
You have to wait to install the patch.
The game is ok when buy.

I have exe version 2.33a.

Now you have to install  
full patch        (in the link)
then 02f
then patch 03a (RC2)   (beta)
then patch  03a(RC3)   (beta)

until read exe version 2.33a when start the game (how before)
Danube camp - 3rd Coaltion camp

Hors ligne Alfiere

  • Général de Brigade
  • ****
  • Messages: 1400
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #6 le: 16 mars 2011, 18:36:28 pm »
You have some problem with Direct 3d.
Perhaps is better you wait JMM before proceed .
« Modifié: 16 mars 2011, 18:38:04 pm par Alfiere »
Danube camp - 3rd Coaltion camp

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #7 le: 16 mars 2011, 18:39:13 pm »
OK = will see if JMM replies.  I am ok with patch 1b but anything else gives this error.

Thank you for trying to help.  Had it working under patch 2d I think before by computer broke. Also had the Spain version working before

Hors ligne JMM

  • Administrateur
  • Maréchal d'Empire
  • *******
  • Messages: 8192
    • http://www.histwar.com
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #8 le: 16 mars 2011, 19:37:27 pm »
Hello,

I can't give any precise information before Friday.. (maybe tomorrow on evening)

That said...
a) try to install the full patch 02F  (http://www.histwar.org/mods/file.php?id=125); it's the last steady version
b) take a look at this thread (http://www.histwar.org/forum/index.php/topic,5320.0.html) about the DirectX Version

Sorry but I am not at my office...

JMM

Hors ligne chrisreb

  • Soldat
  • Messages: 6
Re : cANNOT COMPLETE INSTALL
« Réponse #9 le: 16 mars 2011, 20:22:31 pm »
Jim
Your suggestion worked!

Even though I had done multiple installs of Direct x today - I downloaded from your link and this now allows me to install f=the full 1.02f patch and the game loads.

Very many thanks for your help Jim