Auteur Sujet: LOP issues  (Lu 14504 fois)

Hors ligne Marquês de Alorna

• Chef de Bataillon
LOP issues
« le: 02 mai 2010, 21:11:49 pm »
Dear all,

Sorry if this was already discussed elsewhere (please point me to a past thread if this is the case), but since I've seen that a lot of people praise the LOP mechanism implemented in HW-LG instead of "Victory Points", I'd like to say something about some of its disadvantages that sometimes destroy the realism of the game.

From a "GAME" perspective it makes all sense to have LOPs as already implemented. However, from a "SIMULATION" perspective I have some doubts.
Some debate has been taking place about the need for a Victory Points system, which forces players to implement it out of the game. So I will not repeat their arguments.

Instead, I would like to address the effects on morale. Two days ago, when playing the Amstetten scenario with the French, and since I'm still learning the game, I have committed a mistake, which allowed 3 enemy units (2 Hussar + 1 Infantry) to control the LOP of the French army. I have immediately dispatched all the cavalry (2 Cuirassier + 2 Hussar + 1 Horse Arty) to take the position occupied by the enemy. But the effect of loosing the LOP was so heavy that the charges of the Cuirassiers were always defeated by the enemy Hussars (note: the following day I did not commit the same mistake and the Cuirassiers could easily defeat the very same Hussar units in all encounters). Then the French Hussars were also defeated. Lannes's infantry was also routed in a fight that took place kilometers away from cavalry battle!!!

My question is: is this realistic? I don't think so.