Auteur Sujet: Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.  (Lu 14781 fois)

Hors ligne Gunner24

  • Officier HistWar
  • Général de Division
  • *****
  • Messages: 2507
Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« le: 09 février 2010, 15:49:58 pm »
There is a limited free version for up to 16 players per network, I'm not sure if this means a toal of 16 OR 16 connected and live, anyway, it works and this is the instruction copied from the NBC site :

Citer
1. Go here
http://www.oldapps.com/Hamachi.php

2. Select this version :
Hamachi 1.0.3.0 (989 KB) (18 August, 2008)

3. Click on the link and go here, on the right hand side of the screen :
Download Hamachi 1.0.3.0:
Hamachi 1.0.3.0 (989 KB)

4. Download the application, it takes less than a minute.
5. Run the program and select create shortcut on desktop.
6. Do NOT tick the “security” option when asked.
7. Select NON Commercial Licence.
8. Open the program from the desktop icon and set your name by clicking the bottom left button.
9. Click the network button (middle bottom) and select JOIN network
10. The network name is : NapBC [case sensitive]
11. The password is : 1234

If you want to set up a seperate networkm create one instead of joining one.

Information :
Citer
LogMeIn Hamachi is a zero-configuration virtual private networking (VPN) application. In other words Hamachi is a program that allows you to arrange multiple computers into their own secure network just as if they were connected by a physical network cable. Hamachi is fast, secure and simple. Its core version is also free.

Hamachi is frequently used for gaming and remote administration. The vendor provides free basic service and extra features for a fee.

Hamachi Features

•Hamachi gives you LAN over the Internet. Virtually any application that works over local/home networks can also be used over Hamachi networks.
•Hamachi is a zero-configuration virtual private networking application with an open security architecture and NAT-to-NAT traversal capabilities.
•Hamachi is secure. All Hamachi communications are encrypted and authenticated with industry-standard algorithms and protocols. Nobody will be able to see what two Hamachi peers are talking about. Not even us.
•Great effort went into designing and polishing the Hamachi user interface. The result is sleek, simple and intuitive; yet still very functional. Everything you need, nothing you don't.
•Hamachi software contains no spyware, bannerware or any other -ware unrelated to its purpose. And it never will.
« Modifié: 09 février 2010, 21:16:42 pm par Perrine »
Gunner24
NBC [Founder] 2008-17
http://napbc.freeforums.org/

Hors ligne Ras

  • Chef de Bataillon
  • **
  • Messages: 275
  • MizuRas
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #1 le: 10 février 2010, 19:34:37 pm »
There's a newer version of the application.
version 2.0.1.66

You can get it here: http://www.filehippo.com/download_hamachi/

Hors ligne Gunner24

  • Officier HistWar
  • Général de Division
  • *****
  • Messages: 2507
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #2 le: 10 février 2010, 19:56:06 pm »
Yes, we are using the old one at the moment because Uhlanen has had good experience with it in the past, maybe we should update but everything is working well at the moment.

So far I've had about 4 MP games with no lag and no dis-connections....total playing time about 6 hours, that's truly impossible in steam !.
Gunner24
NBC [Founder] 2008-17
http://napbc.freeforums.org/

Hors ligne gazfun

  • Chevalier d'HistWar
  • Modérateur
  • Colonel
  • ***
  • Messages: 876
  • Avartar
    • The Generals HQ
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #3 le: 11 février 2010, 04:59:57 am »
Yes I agree gunner24, Hamachi does make for a better alternative we have used it for years, it saves a lot of the hassles with Port forwarding issues and modems etc.

« Modifié: 11 février 2010, 05:54:41 am par gazfun »
Write your own History!


Online most times @Skype "The Generals HQ or gazfun. Friday 1900hrs +10 GMT join us if you can!
http://www.thegeneralshq.org
http://www.histwar.org/forum/index.php/board,118.0.html
Histwar Les Grognards beta tester

Hors ligne Napoleonic Wargaming

  • Adjudant
  • *
  • Messages: 31
  • Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)
    • Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #4 le: 11 février 2010, 05:41:24 am »
So to get a good connection in live games use Hamchi??
Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)

Club Public Relations Officer


Hors ligne gazfun

  • Chevalier d'HistWar
  • Modérateur
  • Colonel
  • ***
  • Messages: 876
  • Avartar
    • The Generals HQ
Re : Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #5 le: 11 février 2010, 05:56:02 am »
So to get a good connection in live games use Hamchi??
I think you mean Hamachi dont you?  :)
Write your own History!


Online most times @Skype "The Generals HQ or gazfun. Friday 1900hrs +10 GMT join us if you can!
http://www.thegeneralshq.org
http://www.histwar.org/forum/index.php/board,118.0.html
Histwar Les Grognards beta tester

Hors ligne Uhlanen

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Messages: 92
Re : Re : Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #6 le: 11 février 2010, 06:29:09 am »
I think you mean Hamachi dont you?  :)

Hey Scott.....best watch out or the spelling police will have your A** !!!!

Hors ligne gazfun

  • Chevalier d'HistWar
  • Modérateur
  • Colonel
  • ***
  • Messages: 876
  • Avartar
    • The Generals HQ
Re : Re : Re : Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #7 le: 11 février 2010, 06:33:55 am »
Hey Scott.....best watch out or the spelling police will have your A** !!!!
No It was me that got the spelling wrong, see I editied it, it was scott that picked me up.
Im trying to use a little humor there ok
« Modifié: 11 février 2010, 06:41:46 am par gazfun »
Write your own History!


Online most times @Skype "The Generals HQ or gazfun. Friday 1900hrs +10 GMT join us if you can!
http://www.thegeneralshq.org
http://www.histwar.org/forum/index.php/board,118.0.html
Histwar Les Grognards beta tester

Hors ligne Napoleonic Wargaming

  • Adjudant
  • *
  • Messages: 31
  • Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)
    • Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #8 le: 11 février 2010, 07:19:09 am »
Hey Uhlanen....some crowds are tough...  :cry: 8)

Lol I thought I had copy and pasted it and when I went back to look for it I couldn't find it....  :D 8)  But yes I do mean Hamachi.

Now let's all play nice in the sandbox...  :mrgreen: :shock: :lol:
Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)

Club Public Relations Officer


Hors ligne gazfun

  • Chevalier d'HistWar
  • Modérateur
  • Colonel
  • ***
  • Messages: 876
  • Avartar
    • The Generals HQ
Re : Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #9 le: 11 février 2010, 09:27:42 am »
Hey Uhlanen....some crowds are tough...  :cry: 8)

Lol I thought I had copy and pasted it and when I went back to look for it I couldn't find it....  :D 8)  But yes I do mean Hamachi.

Now let's all play nice in the sandbox...  :mrgreen: :shock: :lol:
I do get the humour about sandboxes, but with Histwar les Grognards we dont them anymore  :smile:
Write your own History!


Online most times @Skype "The Generals HQ or gazfun. Friday 1900hrs +10 GMT join us if you can!
http://www.thegeneralshq.org
http://www.histwar.org/forum/index.php/board,118.0.html
Histwar Les Grognards beta tester

Hors ligne Gunner24

  • Officier HistWar
  • Général de Division
  • *****
  • Messages: 2507
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #10 le: 11 février 2010, 15:27:26 pm »
The only snag with Hamachi appears to be that not everyone is able to host or connect, I read somewhere they claim 85% success rate but there is some weid and wonderfull "tech" reason that not all users can connect with it......I an unable to host, but I can join games, and once in a game there has been no hint of any problems so far.m
Gunner24
NBC [Founder] 2008-17
http://napbc.freeforums.org/

Hors ligne Gunner24

  • Officier HistWar
  • Général de Division
  • *****
  • Messages: 2507
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #11 le: 11 février 2010, 16:25:36 pm »
Damn, I opened by big mouth too soon, after several faultless MP games with Hamachi I now keep getting thronw back to the game menu and the host does not know I left the game.

Hopefully an Hamachi "blip" or something more serious ?.

Gunner24
NBC [Founder] 2008-17
http://napbc.freeforums.org/

Hors ligne Gunner24

  • Officier HistWar
  • Général de Division
  • *****
  • Messages: 2507
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #12 le: 11 février 2010, 17:29:32 pm »
Maybe no need for panic here, the game host was running program in the background, when that was turned off all was well again.......phew.
Gunner24
NBC [Founder] 2008-17
http://napbc.freeforums.org/

Hors ligne Ras

  • Chef de Bataillon
  • **
  • Messages: 275
  • MizuRas
Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #13 le: 12 février 2010, 15:47:04 pm »
6. Do NOT tick the “security” option when asked.

What's the reasoning behind this?
I would strongly recommend to tick that option off.
Otherwise you allow all Hamachi network members to browse your shared files.

Hors ligne Ras

  • Chef de Bataillon
  • **
  • Messages: 275
  • MizuRas
Re : Re : Setting up Hamachi to play MP games.
« Réponse #14 le: 12 février 2010, 16:47:44 pm »
The only snag with Hamachi appears to be that not everyone is able to host or connect, I read somewhere they claim 85% success rate but there is some weid and wonderfull "tech" reason that not all users can connect with it......I an unable to host, but I can join games, and once in a game there has been no hint of any problems so far.m

Have you tried shutting  down your AV Firewall?